What’s hot: Can we be flexible with hospital visiting?

Nursing Conversation Starter written by Emma Heron 

When people become hospital inpatients, they need to be “visited”.  But visitors to hospitals are subject to different rules; some hospitals even having completely different visiting hours across their departments and wards.   Do we ensure visitors are aware of the expectations we have?  Are there examples of innovative ways to do this?

The structure of wards and departments varies significantly.  Some have single rooms; some have 4 patients in a bay.  For day services it may be several people sitting around a waiting area.  This makes the task of rule-making more complex as it changes the rationale for the boundaries set.  There may be a desire to protect other patients in a bay from always having conversations going on around them so a set a visiting time of 2-4pm with only 2 visitors per bed is in place.  And patients may get tired and this needs to be balanced with the need for company.  The purpose of the visit may well affect the amount of energy it might either sap from or give to the patient, thereby positively or negatively affecting their recovery and experience. How do we ensure the privacy of other patients on the ward, as per the NMC Code of Conduct (Standard 5), when visitors are present?

Visitors are an important part of the experience of being a patient.  Green et al (2012) have identified the value in having visitors for the older patient which include “a release from boredom, keeping in touch with family and social life, news of the world outside the institution, reassurance you have not been forgotten or abandoned, showing others on the ward you are not alone.” How do we support those patients who do not receive visitors either because they do not have anyone able to physically visit them or because a ward is closed due to infection?

Thoughts from the profession 5 years ago were captured in a #WeNurses chat hosted by Wendy Sinclair. The conversation had very strong opinions voiced on both sides; now that open visiting is becoming more popular, is it time to revisit the issue and see how (or if!) thoughts have changed?

Next week I am taking a close family member to hospital for a procedure.  I was surprised when I realized the impact of visiting a Trust with defined times I would be allowed on the unit. This prompted me to try and find out other’s views on visiting hours on Twitter. I need to get my relative to the hospital that is 30 mins away by 7.30am, whilst trying to get 2 children, one that is disabled, ready for school.   I now don’t know if I need to drop off then hang around for hours trying to entertain myself while my relative is sat equally bored. My stress levels are already rising, and I feel like I cannot plan the day.  I am not alone.  Other twitter users have shared how they have also had to balance hospital visiting with other caring responsibilities.

The contrast with my experience of being a visitor to a paediatric ward is stark. Following a late arrival at A&E, my presence overnight was not only assumed but welcomed.  A small kitchen with basic tea and coffee making facilities brought relief to me at 11pm and a chair that extended into a place I could lie and rest next to my child was by the hospital bed.  I administered his usual medication, scattered through a packet of crisps and yoghurt kindly provided by the nurse on the ward.  I was a partner in his care and appropriately so.  Are there lessons that can be learned from this model that can be taken through into an adult ward?

Rigid visiting schedules have various rationales behind them.  I would like to think they have the patient at heart such as wards that support John’s Campaign which seeks to uphold the rights of people who had dementia to have a close family member with them during a hospital stay.   As nurses, how do we balance the needs of patients to see their family member/ visitors with the needs of those visitors and also, the needs of the ward e.g. intimate care/ examinations where it is not always appropriate for visitors to be present?

  • Are we willing to be flexible sometimes? If so, what circumstances are we willing to flex for?
  • How do we support those patients who do not receive visitors either because they do not have anyone able to physically visit them or because a ward is closed due to infection?

Screenshot 2019-04-02 09.42.38

15 thoughts on “What’s hot: Can we be flexible with hospital visiting?

Add yours

  1. Thank you for raising this issue again. I still believe that we have to be flexible with visiting times. Unfortunately, I still see areas where one hour visiting in the evening is the accepted norm. Nurses are highly skilled communicators and so surely they can negotiate for best outcomes? I’d like to see flexible visiting hours in all areas.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Absolutely agree it needs rethinking. As with most things in healthcare the rise of ‘standardisation’ has led to a one size fits all that doesn’t fit anyone. If we were truly providing person centred care, nurses would be providing bespoke arrangements that meet the needs of both individual patients and all the patients as a whole. This would of course require nurses to think critically and weigh up the pros and cons for each case. Not sure all nurses are up for doing that, which brings us back to whether we actually understand our role, or see oversells as rule based technicians

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When I had my first daughter in 2009, I was induced/augmented purely because I refused to stay in hospital without my husband “indefinitely” because I had met their criteria for admission to the ward but not delivery suite just yet and it was not possible to determine how long it would take to get there.

      I remember feeling really vulnerable and anxious about being admitted alone at age 22, during such a significant time in my life, so I declined as I wanted to be at home until it was time for my baby to be born. They decided I should stay and my husband could too. But after handover this narrative changed to needing to induce me if my husband wanted to stay or he would have to leave.

      In this instance, I essentially accepted an intervention that was potentially unnecessary (and led to further interventions) purely to ensure I had someone available to provide emotional support. I spent a week on the ward after my baby was born and became very down – I felt very lonely during an emotional time and my husband was just waiting around for visiting hours. It was horrible.

      Now, that same ward has open visiting times and partners can stay and help mum and baby.

      I’m sure many of us has personal experience of rigid or shortened visiting times being frustrating or upsetting. It doesn’t take much to imagine how they might impact the wellbeing of other patients.

      It’s not uncommon to see patients sharing stories on Care Opinion about how inconvenient open visiting is and that they find it intrusive. Or that some patients have large numbers of visitors all the time and it’s loud, hinders their ability to relax etc.

      So whilst I think open visiting is valuable, I think each clinical area needs to adjust and revisit what that might look like for them. For example, number of visitors at any one time and noise levels. It wouldn’t hurt to issue guidance in the form of a “what to expect” booklet that I think all wards and inpatient settings should provide anyway – covering various other things.

      Like

      1. 2 great comments which as a patient I can very much relate to. What interests me in this debate is who has the ultimate power to decide? In my experience much of the debate around visiting has been very polarised but the direction of travel is towards open visiting. Advocates of open visiting are often very dismissive of concerns regarding need to rest, privacy when having conversations with staff and the feeling of having an audience all the time, especially when needing help with care.

        Many of these issues would be resolved if all hospitals had single rooms ( realise that can potentially cause other problems ) but they don’t. What do we do when an individual’s rights to have visitors infringe on my rights to rest etc?

        I also wonder how many visiting policies are co produced with patients being meaningfully involved in the process? Do open visiting policies end up being as inflexible as restricted visiting?

        Liked by 2 people

        1. It’s interesting that you talk about power Lynn. Yes, single rooms sound amazing but they too can have their problems dependent on the location/ specialty. But certainly from a visitor point of view they provide privacy.

          I think I too would like to see more patient input when wards and departments develop their visiting policies.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Thanks for the link, I certainly prefer a single room when in Hospital for privacy, rest and also because I am immunosupressed. I have never been in hospital for an extended stay though, found differences between views of staff and patients interesting.

            Like

      2. Thank you for sharing Leanne. I had a bad experience in hospital which led to PTSD which I had for 5 1/2 years. Purely because they refused to delay a distressing procedure until my husband was allowed in for visiting. I’d forgotten about this until you shared this. A good example of the needs of the service coming before the needs of the patient. I agree we must move away from this model and appreciate more fully the impact of not having next of kin present can have on a patient, particularly at times of heightened anxiety.

        It’s good to hear the ward has changed!

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Really interesting when we think of it in terms of institutionalisation. It isn’t acceptable to, for example, get all patients up at the same time to fit the needs of the service. How does hospital visiting differ?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I implemented an open visiting times on my Older People’s Orthopaedics Trauma Ward when I was a Matron then. I adapted the St John’s Campaign for patients with Dementia. This was as a result of complaints and concerns raised by some relatives and staff that our visiting times were stringent and inflexible. After discussion with the team and my Chief Nurss, I led in it’s implementation. At the same time, my ward was the best in getting our patients dressed in their own clothes to help them feel better , mobilise more and help them to get home sooner, the End PJ Paralysis National Campaign. As a result, my patients were happier,the ward atmosphere was great, patients’ length is stay was one of the best in the Trust, complaints decreased and staff were appreciative of its effects on patients experience and outcomes. The issues around infection control and privacy and dignity were very minimal as visitors were made aware of our ward’s regulations.

    Like

    1. I left the comment on twitter about patient involvement in policy planning. While I appreciate the positive aspects of what was implemented I am intrigued by the choice of language, “ my older people’s ward “ , “ discussion with team and chief nurse “ “ my ward “ “ my patients “ .

      Was the visiting policy designed FOR patients or WITH them?

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This is a great example of a patient centred visiting policy. Just out of interest, apart from John’s campaign, did you work directly with any patients to shape the developments. You clearly used their views in why it was started in the first place. It’s just as we have had a question on twitter about patients being directly involved in policy planning.

    Thanks so much for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Health care professionals particularly in hospitals are the visitors in people’s lives. We (HCPs) have so much to learn from family members, numerous reports have highlighted that family members are not listened to in relation to aspects of their care, or sadly if they deteriorate. Cause for concern is an excellent model for family involvement in adult care, see Mandy Odell’s work at Royal Berks which has spread to other acute hospitals such as Southend. Agree with other posts that the approach taken with visiting in children’s ward areas have transferable elements to adult care.

    Like

  6. Such an interesting discussion. Adult wards have a great deal to learn from paediatrics. Why do we ban relatives from ward kitchens so they have to go and get a £3 coffee from Costa? I have seen staff give food to relatives especially when pts are end of life so there are some common sense exceptions to the rules. Siderooms are great, but patients do sometimes want their visitor or relative to leave. I think a visiting policy developed in conjunction with patients is the way forward, and a little flexibility in day to day practice.

    Like

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started